h1

Parallels

Juli 29, 2016

I have bought a new Mac Air laptop mainly for home and training purposes. The laptop has an I5 processor, 8 GB of Ram and 128 GB Hard disk (maybe not so smart, even though I plane to use a 128 SD card for non-critical or cloud-based data).

As the Windows 10 update cutoff was looming and with a spare Win 8 license in the cellar, I had a decision to make if I install Windows via Bootcamp or via Parallels. I plan to use Windows solely for Visual Studio.

I have finally decided to use Parallels as I hope that the performance penalty will be ok to bear and the advantages especially around disk space usage/flexibility will pay off. I got the first glimpse of the advantage when realizing that instead of the planned 10 GB for VS I might need to have 30 GB with Xamarin.

One great article which I found was 5 Ways to save disk space on Mac OS. I will add from time to time more content to update on my experience.

 

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar